I’ve always hated quiche.  It’s a texture thing, the custard-y filling always made me cringe slightly.  However, when I first started going out with my boyfriend, I was desperately trying to show what a low maintenance, cool sort of easy going person I was.  We’re both really in to food, so I said, confidently on about our third date ‘oh yes, I eat anything!’  I then had to backtrack embarrassingly, as he started offering to cook me things I really hated.  Beetroot, for example.  After this faux pas, I had to regain ground.  So when he offered me quiche, I couldn’t say no.  After a while, I got used to it, but I decided it would be far better if home made.

Cut to a couple of weeks ago, and we’d decided to go on a picnic to Greenwich park.  It was quiche time.  Turns out that if you can make pastry, you can make quiche, it’s really very easy.  There were several obstacles on this occasion, the main one being that my boyfriend’s house is without a pair of scales.  Making pastry without scales is a difficult matter.  I made basic shortcrust, according to some rough estimations, and it was pretty much fine, although a bit too ‘short’ to roll out.  After half an hour in the fridge and a bit more flour, things improved enough to cover the bottom of a round cake tin, which was good enough.  Quiche filling is basically cream (a hell of a lot of it) and whatever you want in the quiche, so you can get as complicated, or as simple, as you like.  The recipe we used was for red onion quiche, we added red peppers for colour and deliciousness.

So far, so easy, however, after several hours of preparing various food items, resting pastry and so forth, time (and the sunshine) was running out, and the quiche still had several minutes left to cook.  Despairing, we took it out anyway and set off to Greenwich.  As a result, the quiche was less slices, and more quiche soup, but I still claim this as a success.  Given a less impatient chef, quiche is one of the easiest things I’ve ever made, and incredibly delicious and rich.

Red pepper and Onion Quiche (adapted from BBC Food)

Filling
25g butter
500g small onions halved and finely sliced
2 eggs
284ml pot double cream
140g mature cheddar, grated (optional)

Pastry
280g plain flour
140g cold butter

Sieve the flour into a bowl, then add the butter, chopped into small pieces.  Rub the butter into the flour until you have a crumbly mixture.  Then slowly add cold water, a bit at a time, until you have a dough that adheres together well.  Rest for half an hour in the fridge.  Roll out, and place into a greased cake tin (or tart tin, or quiche tin if you are that sophisticated – anything metal works well), with pastry going up the sides of the tin. Then prick the pastry with a fork all over the bottom.  Cover the bottom with greaseproof paper, weigh down with pastry weights (beans or rice will do nicely).  Blind bake at gas mark 6 for fifteen – twenty minutes.  The original recipe calls for 20 mins, but you’re going to bake it again anyway with the mixture in, so make sure it doesn’t get too brown or it’ll end up burnt.

Slice and fry the onions and red peppers with butter.  Beat the eggs in a bowl, then add the cream.  Stir in the onion and pepper mixture, and half the cheese.  Then pour the creamy cheesey mixture into the blind baked pastry case, and bake again for twenty – twenty five minutes until golden on top.  Tastes best sitting on slightly damp grass outside with a bottle of cava.

