Not a very Indian plate choice, but dinner was on the table

Two months ago I came back from India determined never to eat another Indian dish.  It was one of the biggest disappointments of the trip than Indian food in India is so horrid, or at least in North India where I was, I hear better things about South Indian food.  For at least a month, my stomach started turning at the thought of thalis or paneer or naans.  Fortunately for me, my appetite came back eventually, and now I’ve discovered how easy naans are to make, I’ll definitely make the more often.  Naans are easy because they are bread without the complicated proving part, where the yeast has to work or all your hard work goes to nothing.  Unleavened bread takes all the guess-work out of the thing, something I’m very much in favour of. Best of all, you control your own toppings, so no more ‘garlic’ naans that taste like the closest they’ve got to a garlic clove is being in the same supermarket.

Naans, from BBC Food

250g/9oz plain flour
2 tsp sugar
½ tsp salt
½ tsp baking powder
110-130ml milk
2 tbsp vegetable oil

Measure the flour, salt, sugar and baking powder into a bowl. Make a well in the centre. Mix together the milk and oil, and pour into the flour. Mix together to form a dough (you’ll probably need a bit more milk), and knead for a bit. Rest in the bowl for 15 minutes in a warm place. Preheat the grill to medium. Divide the dough into balls; this recipe made about 5 mini naans, probably about two proper sized ones. Roll out the balls quite thinly, and add topping (I did garlic and fresh coriander, crushing the garlic and then pushing it onto the surface of the dough. But then I’m a garlic fiend, you could do cheese or even try peshwari if you’re feeling brave) Grill on one side until golden brown and naan-like.

