Image

Not an obvious candidate for this blog, as cakes are generally accepted as a make at home staple.  But there is a good reason for its inclusion here.  Last weekend I ate some cake purporting to be a lemon and poppyseed loaf, from the ‘best’ range of a well known supermarket.  Reader, I gagged.  I have never tasted anything so synthetic in my life, and a glance through the ingredients revealed why, the ‘lemon’ pieces dotted throughout the sponge were actually made principally of sugar and apple juice.  Why, I do not know.  So I promised I’d bake a proper one, and here it is, a classic pound cake.

Lemon and poppyseed loaf

300g plain flour
pinch salt
1 1/2 tablespoons grated lemon zest
4 1/2 tablespoons poppy seeds
225g caster sugar
300g unsalted butter, softened
5 eggs
150g caster sugar
175ml lemon juice

Add the flour, zest, salt and poppyseeds together and mix well.  In a different bowl, beat the butter and sugar together, then add the eggs, beating after each addition.  Add the flour mixture and pour into a greased loaf tin.  Bake at gas 4 for 60-75 minutes.  To make the glaze, heat lemon juice and sugar in a pan until all the sugar has dissolved, then pour over the cake.  100% genuine deliciousness…

