Photo taken without the magical SLR

A caveat. I am not a food blogger who pretends that everything has always turned out perfectly. I’m pretty lucky, but sometimes things don’t pan out quite the way I wanted. Chicken kiev, one of the most delicious dishes in the history of the world, is also one quite difficult to get right. So, alas, I failed to get that satisfying spurt of garlic butter when cutting in to this kiev, instead getting a sort of garlicky crust, which was nice, but not as good as hoped. However, I think I’ve figured out where I went wrong, so this recipe is an improved version from the photographed one.

Chicken kiev (serves 2)

2 chicken breasts (choose large ones if possible)
6 cloves of garlic, smushed
100 g room temp butter
1 slice worth of breadcrumbs
eggwash

Make the garlic butter by mashing the garlic into the butter at length. Then, and this is the crucial bit, chill the butter back into solidity for half an hour. Butterfly the chicken breasts. Put a good dollop of butter in the middle, then fold the chicken back over it. Coat in the egg wash, then in the breadcrumbs. Chill again for about 15 mins. Bake in the oven for 25-30 minutes, gas 5. They should be golden brown and hot all the way through. Keep your fingers crossed, then cut in to!

