Whilst working at the lovely LRB shop over the last few weeks, a mini British Bake off was staged in our very own tiny kitchen. Well, sort of.  My friend Ranya is training to be a pastry chef, and, not one to be discouraged by healthy competition, I took up the gauntlet not ever really thrown to me. On my last day I brought these in, but Ranya raised me salted caramel brownies, which were delish. Fortunately we didn’t have any irritatingly serious judges to mark our work, just appreciative colleagues, so we got off without coming to blows.

Anyway, I’ve been planning to make these for absolutely ages, and they were far easier than I expected, although time consuming. I used ready made puff, again, some partially defrosted raspberries from the freezer and some sweetened cream.

Mille feuille

1x packet ready made puff

Roll out the puff pastry into a rectangle. Prick with a fork all over then place in the oven at gas 5  on a baking sheet, with another baking sheet ontop, to make sure it doesn’t rise too much. If you don’t have a heavy baking sheet, put a ceramic baking dish on top. Bake for 20 minutes, or until golden.  Leave to cool

Sweet cream

Whisk 150ml double cream with an electric whisk until it forms soft peaks. Then add 2 tbspns caster sugar and a couple of drops of vanilla essence. Whisk into stiff peaks.

Assembly

With a serrated knife, cut the puff pastry sheet into smaller rectangles, all of equal size. Discard the misshapen bits round the edges. I used three levels of puff to two of raspberry, but how you do it is up to you. Pipe cream blobs onto the first layer, then top with strawberry, followed by a small dab of cream to stick the pastry on top. Continue for the next two layers.

Ideally serve immediately. You can use the same method and filling for larger mille feuille, but only if you have less greedy colleagues than I.

