I’ve been awol for a while – apologies to regular readers (hi Dad). I’ve been moving house and new jobbing, but this month I’m doing NaNoWriMo, which as anyone who knows it knows, is an excellent excuse for procrastination – and therefore updating the blog. I’ve still got 1660 words to go today, and so far I’ve rung the bank, done my laundry, made fridge cake and watched the whole of Obama’s victory speech, even though the webpage only updated every 30 seconds so I just got stills of his face with words over the top. Totally worth it. Still at least today I can write in bed with a cup of tea, rather than slaving over a desk which my legs don’t fit behind.

So! Rye and honey soda bread. Easiest thing ever, laughably easy, just involving putting the wet ingredients into the dry ones and baking.

Rye and honey soda bread (adapted from Hugh’s recipe in the weekend’s Guardian)

250g rye flour
1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
¼ tsp salt
100ml plain yoghurt
100ml whole milk
50g runny honey
1 tbsp vegetable oil

Mix the dry ingredients together. Then whisk the yog, honey, milk and oil together until no longer lumpy. Pour into the dry ingredients. It will be very sticky – but here’s the best bit, you don’t have to knead it! So it doesn’t matter. Turn out onto an oiled baking sheet and cut a cross in it, then dust with flour. Bake for 40 minutes at gas mark 6.

Then I had it for lunch with cavalo nero pesto. Sometimes I think I’m becoming a parody of myself