P1000154

Another good recipe for a cold morning when you’ve got a glut of vegetables from the weekly veg box. I’m currently working my way through three bags of potatoes, and the more I cook, the less keen I become. But a sticky savoury cake like thing that tastes amazing covered in butter, and I’m sold. Especially in a room where the radiator only works if you’re sitting on it and the olive oil has gone cloudy because it’s too cold.

Potato bread

500g potatoes, peeled and cubed1 cup of flour (by which I mean mug, not your crazy American cup)
Pinch of salt

Boil the potatoes and then mash them with some butter. Gradually add the flour with the salt in it until you have a dough that isn’t too sticky, then roll it out onto a floured surface, adding more flour as you roll. Cut into vaguely potato bread shaped objects, and cook over a high heat in a dry frying pan. They are done when browned on both sides. Put a little bit of butter on them as you take them off the heat to keep them moist, then add lots more butter when you eat them. You’re aiming for melted butter running down your hand, fyi.

